FOREWORD

Special Section on Machine Vision Applications

The Ninth IAPR Conference on Machine Vision Applications, MVA2005, was held in Tsukuba Science City from May 16 through 18, 2005. Reflecting the growing areas of machine vision applications, the conference attracted more than 200 submissions from 25 countries, among which 43 and 102 papers were selected for oral and poster presentations, respectively. Since the conference was a great success, we planned this special section and asked the participants and other researchers in this field to submit papers. We received 52 papers, far greater than our expectation. Among them, we have selected 28 papers through a rigorous review process. We believe that these papers show the quality and wide variety of machine vision applications. We would like to express our sincere gratitude to all the authors for their valuable contributions and to all the reviewers for their cooperation in completing the reviewing process under tight schedule.

While we are deeply saddened by the recent passing of Prof. Mikio Takagi, it gives us great pleasure to publish this special section. Prof. Takagi, who passed away on February 2nd of this year, was the founder of the MVA conferences and one of the general co-chairs of the MVA2005. Prof. Takagi's death is a great loss to all of us in the machine vision community. In recognition of his remarkable achievements and contributions in this field, we have decided to dedicate this special section to his memory.

Special Section Editorial Committee

Guest Associate Editor: Katsuhiko Sakaue (AIST)

Guest Editorial Manager: Akio Nakamura (Tokyo Denki University)

Members: Mikio Takagi (Shibaura Institute of Technology), In So Kweon (KAIST), Masakazu Ejiri (Hitachi), Akira Maeda (Mitsubishi Electric), Seiji Hata (Kagawa University), Katsushi Ikeuchi (University of Tokyo), Masatsugu Kidode (NAIST), Hiroyasu Koshimizu (Chukyo University), Hiroshi Nagahashi (TITECH), Hirobumi Nishida (Ricoh), Yuichi Ohta (University of Tsukuba), Masatoshi Okutomi (TITECH), Shinji Ozawa (Keio University), Shigeru Sasaki (Fujitsu), Yoichi Sato (University of Tokyo), Takeshi Shakunaga (Okayama University), Yasuhito Suenaga (Nagoya University), Johji Tajima (Nagoya City University), Hirotada Ueda (Kyoto University), Kenichi Arakawa (NTT), Ryuichi Hiraike (NEC), Yoshiharu Ichikawa (Sony Semiconductor Kyushu), Masataka Kagesawa (University of Tokyo), Kunihito Kato (Gifu University), Atsuto Maki (Kyoto University), Takeshi Masuda (AIST), Hiroaki Nakai (Toshiba), Yuichi Nakamura (Kyoto University), Keisuke Nakashima (Hitachi), Kunio Nobori (Matsushita Electric), Kohtaro Ohba (AIST), Shin'ichiro Okazaki (NEC), Kazunori Onoguchi (Hirosaki University), Hideo Saito (Keio University), Yutaka Satoh (AIST), Norimichi Ukita (NAIST), Koji Wakimoto (Mitsubishi Electric), Mamoru Yasumoto (SANYO Electric), Heitoh Zen (Chiba University)

Yoshinori Kuno, Guest Chief Editor

Yoshinori Kuno (*Member*) received the B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in 1977, 1979, and 1982, respectively, all in electrical and electronics engineering from the University of Tokyo. In 1982, he joined Toshiba Corporation. From 1987 to 1988, he was a visiting scientist at Carnegie Mellon University. In 1993, he moved to Osaka University as an associate professor in the Department of Computer-Controlled Mechanical Systems. Since 2000, he has been a professor in the Department of Information and Computer Sciences, Saitama University. His research interests include computer vision, human-computer interaction, and robotics.

